Fall 2020

Reopening Plan for 2020-2021 School Year

On June 11, 2020, OSPI released guidance that lays a framework for schools to begin planning what their return to school in the fall looks like. In the video below, Superintendent Chris Reykdal reviews some of the high-level points of the guidance and expresses his gratitude to educators, parents and families, and students for their perseverance this spring.

The state has defined priorities for reducing the risk of COVID-19 incidents as schools resume in-person instruction next year. We will continue to share information about how we will meet these expectations next fall.  

  • Administer health screenings; sick students and staff must stay home  
  • Develop hand washing protocols  
  • Limit the number of students per classroom to ensure physical distancing.  
  • Face coverings for staff and students    
  • Clean and disinfect spaces

Reopening Task Force

The Ferndale School District requested volunteers to serve on a Reopening Task Force. The Task Force will create a local plan designed to support student learning in a manner consistent with health and safety directives from OSPI and the Department of Health. Please see more information regarding the task force in the following news item: https://www.ferndalesd.org/news/1684237/ferndale-school-district-seeks-volunteers-for-reopening-taskforce.

The purpose of the Reopening Task Force is to research, discuss, and develope reopening recommendations for our Executive Team and School Board. The Task Force is made up of community partners, students, parents/guardians, school board members, district administrators, building administrators, certified and classified staff.

Word Cloud graphic

Task Force Meeting Notes

Upcoming Meetings

August 18, 2020

Please note Zoom Meeting recordings are posted below.

Zoom Meeting Recordings

Reopening Task Force Members

  • Abby Bryan, High School Student
  • Alvaro Vincente, Certificated Staff Member
  • Andrea Swindle, Certificated Staff Member
  • Andy Fox, Parent/Guardian
  • Anna Carlson, Parent/Guardian
  • Bernie Thomas, Superintendent of Lummi Nation School
  • Brandi Tilton, Classified Staff
  • Chantee Ziemkowski, Parent/Guardian
  • Chris Holeman, Custodian
  • Crystal Lawrence, Parent/Guardian
  • Darcilyn Bob, Parent/Guardian
  • David Rodriguez, Principal
  • Eric Tripp, Athletic Director
  • Erin Vincent, Communication Director
  • Faye Britt, Executive Director of Teaching & Learning, Facilitator
  • Galina Shulga, Classified Staff
  • Gary Dyck, Parent/Guardian
  • Heather Leighton, Principal
  • Heather Longwell, Certificated Staff Member
  • Heather Lindsay, Parent/Guardian
  • Hector Suarez, Custodian
  • Holly Graham, Director of Accounting
  • Jamie Plenkovich, Director of Maintenance
  • Jayme Roegele, Classified Staff
  • Jennifer Durocher, Parent/Guardian
  • Jeremy Vincent, Principal
  • Kelsey Ottum, Certificated Staff Member
  • Kellie Larrabee, Executive Director of Teaching & Learning, Facilitator
  • Kimberly Cancelosi, Parent/Guardian
  • Laurie Walloch, Certificated Staff Member
  • Lewann Eggert, Transportation
  • Lee Anne Riddle, School Board Member
  • Linda Quinn, Superintendent
  • Margaret Morgan, Certificated Staff Member
  • Mark Deebach, Assistant Superintendent of Business and Finance
  • Melinda Cool, School Board Member & Parent
  • Melissa Welch, Certificated Staff Member
  • Michele Stern, Certificated Staff Member
  • Myla Musselwhite, Classified Staff
  • Nicole LaValley, Parent/Guardian
  • Obadiah DeWeber, Principal
  • Pam Jenkins, Classified Staff, Notetaker
  • Patrice Valentine, Parent/Guardian
  • Patti Hoelzle, Counselor
  • Paul Rosser, Director of Transportation
  • Peter Finstuen, Certificated Staff Member
  • Rav Dhillon, Principal
  • Rebecca Champagne, Director of Special Education, Facilitator
  • Renetta Pollock, Classified Staff
  • Ron Palmer, Maintenance
  • Sandy Bird, District Nurse
  • Sara Dessert, Certificated Staff Member
  • Sarah Perry, Parent/Guardian
  • Shannon Millican, After School Child Care Provider
  • Sophia Bianco, Student
  • Tammy Alejandre, Certificated Staff Member
  • Tina Harmer, Classified Staff
  • Yvonne Green, Classified Staff
  • Zach Doobovs, Public Health Nurse - Whatcom County Health Department

This site provides information using PDF, visit this link to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader DC software.